The Hardest Thing about Having Multiples

is time! There is never enough of it. This is a big trigger for my depression. I don’t have any time for myself, not even to paint my toes that have 2 month old nail polish on them.  I would love a baby-free day, but let’s not get crazy. All I want and need is a couple hours to myself during the week.  No matter how hard I try to get it, it constantly gets pushed to the side.  My man is working generally 6 days a week and when I think I get a chance to have time, the girls just aren’t having it, something comes up, or more often than not, the day escapes from me.

I have a schedule with the girls.  When raising multiples, you have to have a schedule and you have to stick to it or else your whole day is ruined.

The girls do nap during the day, however they nap on me.  Yes, you can tell me to train them on napping in their room.  I have, but since our neighborhood is so loud, they sleep longer when napping on me.  Aside from that, having them nap on me has made me take a break.  The first few months with them, I was constantly feeling guilty just sitting there for hours with babies sleeping on me.  I couldn’t calm down my mind.  I was always thinking about the things that need to be done around the house; the bottles need to be cleaned, laundry needs to be done, the bathroom hasn’t been cleaned in a month, I need a shower, I need to vacuum, etc.  It has been a journey to get to the point where I can actually nap with my girls during the day or enjoy some of my T.V. shows for a change.

Having twins has really taken a toll on my health, the main reason being that I haven’t had time to take care of myself.  My hands broke out in eczema.  I wasn’t eating well for a while.  My skin was starting to break out and of course, I was not getting enough sleep.

I have learned over the past 7 months that you need to make time for yourself.  It is not a maybe it will happen.  I have told Adler that it has to be as important as his job.  Having a small amount of time just to paint my nails or take a baby-free nap or go out to get coffee is recharging time for myself.  It will make me a better mom because I will have patience for cranky, squirmy, I-want-to-do-everything-you’re-telling-me-not-to babies. Being couped up in a house, doing the same thing day after day creates insanity.  I love my girls and they do something new every day, but I need a break and that’s ok.

 

Take a break moms and dads!

Leave a Reply

